The Legal Age to Work in California

Posted by davepowers Category: Uncategorized

Minors can find work permit applications on the websites of the California Department of Industrial Relations or Department of Education. While some states require working minors to provide an age certification document to their employers, minors who want to work in California are not required. Employers are expected to identify the minors they employ and ensure that their employment complies with all federal and state child labor restrictions. California`s child labor laws govern the age, hours, and type of work that minors under the age of 17 may perform in California. In general, teens between the ages of 16 and 17 can work a variety of jobs, but not jobs California considers too dangerous. Teenagers aged 14 and 15 can work in a variety of professions, but are severely limited in the number of hours per day and week they can work, especially when school is in session. Children 13 years of age or younger are not allowed to work in California, except in certain limited situations. Child labor law under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and as enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor`s Wages and Hours Division may also apply. Details of California`s child labor laws and regulations are discussed below. I am 14 years old and I want to become a nail technician, can I do it legally? Sixteen and 17-year-olds can work four hours on school days and eight hours on days off or on days before a day off. Yes, there are many jobs that minors can`t do in California. These prohibited professions stem from both state labor law and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

They are based on the age of the minor. I wanted to work as a nail technician, but I`m 14, can I do it? Since the entertainment industry is a major employer in the state, California has specific regulations for minors working in this sector. These apply to children who appear in television shows or movies, make recordings or work as models for advertising or other media. California child labor laws permit youth ages 14 and 15 to provide sports services in professional baseball as defined by federal regulations, but only with the prior written permission of the school district where the minor is enrolled or the board of education of the county where that school district is located. Teens aged 14 and 15 who provide sports services in professional baseball can work outside of school hours until 12:30 p.m. each evening before a day off and until 10 p.m. the day before a school day. In addition, these young people may only be employed for a maximum of five (5) hours per school day and for a maximum of 18 hours per week where the school takes place. These young persons may not be employed for more than eight (8) hours per day off from school and not more than 40 hours per week during which school does not take place. A school board that grants written permission to a 14- or 15-year-old child to direct sports services must provide a copy of the written authorization to the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement within five (5) days of it being issued to the youth.

Labor Code CA 1295.5 While 12- and 13-year-olds can mow lawns, deliver newspapers, and babysit, California labor laws allow job seekers ages 14 to 17 to get legal employment. The State also establishes the conditions relating to the age and level of education that minors must have in order to perform certain types of work. Minors between the ages of 15 and 18 days employed in the entertainment industry must have a work permit and employers must have a work permit, both permits issued by the Office of the Labour Commissioner. These permits are also required for minors who make phonographic recordings or are employed as advertising or photo models. Permits are required even if maintenance is non-commercial in nature. California`s child labor laws exclude the following elements from the requirement to obtain a work permit: When school is in session, 14- and 15-year-olds are allowed to work 3 hours a day, no more than 18 hours a week. You can also work 8 hours a day when the school is not in session, no more than 40 hours a week. California law prohibits minors under the age of 16 from working: this includes rates of pay above the minimum wage. Of these jobs, only those in the entertainment industry require a work permit.

California`s child labor protection prohibits 14- and 15-year-olds from working in multiple hazardous occupations or similar types of work. The prohibitions include: While some states require working minors to present an age certificate to their employers, minors who want to work in California do not. Employers are expected to identify the minors they employ and ensure that their employment complies with all federal and state child labor restrictions. Restrictions on night work limit the length of time a minor can legally work. California`s child labor laws prohibit youth under the age of 15 from working as messengers for telegraph, telephone, or courier companies. It also prohibits youth under the age of 15 from working for the U.S. government while operating a telegraph, telephone, or courier service to distribute, transmit, or deliver goods or messages in cities with populations of more than 15,000. Any 16 or 17 year old who performs the messenger work described above may only work after 6:00 a.m. and before 9:00 p.m. In addition to laws requiring professional references or age checks for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations for the employment of minors in agriculture (e.g., farm work and harvesting) and entertainment industries (including child actors, models, and artists).

Yes. California law requires all minors to have a work permit before taking a job. In general, the legal age to work in California is 14. However, minors between the ages of 14 and 17 face significant restrictions on when and where they can work and how many hours they can work per week. Most need their parents` permission to work. Many minors will still have to go to school.